January 08, 1996

On January 8, 1996, the Baseball Writers’ Association of America fails to elect a single player to the Hall of Fame. Phil Niekro and Don Sutton, who receive the highest number of votes, will win election to the Hall in 1997 and 1998, respectively.

January 10, 1984

On January 10, 1984, Luis Aparicio, Don Drysdale, and Harmon Killebrew are elected to the Hall of Fame. Killebrew totaled 573 home runs to rank fifth on the all-time list, Drysdale won 209 games with a 2.95 era, and Aparicio led the American League in stolen bases nine straight seasons. Killebrew gains election in his fourth year on the ballot, Aparicio in his sixth year, and Drysdale in his 10th year.

March 11, 1981

On March 11, 1981, the Veterans Committee elects slugger Johnny Mize and Negro Leagues pioneer Rube Foster to the Hall of Fame. Mize totaled 359 home runs during a 15-year major league career, while Foster served as a pitcher, manager, and executive in the Negro Leagues.

March 12, 1980

On March 12, 1980, slugging outfielder Chuck Klein and former Boston Red Sox owner Tom Yawkey are elected to the Hall of Fame by the Veterans Committee. Klein batted .320 over a 17-year career with the Philadelphia Phillies, Chicago Cubs, and Pittsburgh Pirates. Yawkey becomes the first Hall of Fame owner who never served as a player, manager, or general manager during his career.

January 08, 1995

On January 8, 1995, former Philadelphia Phillies standout Mike Schmidt is elected to the Hall of Fame. Schmidt hit 548 home runs and won three National League MVP awards during his major league career.
Syndicate content