1966 Induction Ceremony

Ted Williams was inducted to the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1966. (National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)Ted Williams and Casey Stengel were enshrined in front of 7,000 fans on July 25, 1966. Williams was the lone BBWAA inductee and received a then-record 93.4 percent of the votes, while Stengel was elected by the Veterans Committee. Stengel stole the show with his induction speech, which lasted a full 20 minutes longer than Williams’. Charles Dryden received the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing. Dryden worked for newspapers in San Francisco, Chicago, Philadelphia and New York and coined the famous phrase “Washington – first in war, first in peace and last in the American League.”

TED WILLIAMS: A first ballot inductee who was named on 93.4 percent of ballots cast, Williams played his entire 19 year career with the Boston Red Sox. Despite a three year break to serve in World War II, Williams dominated the American League from 1940 to 1949. With only seven active years in the 1940s he won two A.L. MVP Awards, led the league in runs scored six times, in home runs and batting average four times each, in RBI three times and in on-base percentage all seven years. In 1941 Williams put together the last .400 season, batting .406 with 37 home runs and 120 RBI. A 17-time all-star, he homered in his last major league at-bat. Williams retired with a .344 batting average, which ranks eighth on the all-time list, 521 home runs and 1,839 runs batted in. His .482 career OBP is the highest in baseball history.

Casey Stengel was inducted to the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1966. (National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)CASEY STENGEL: After a 14 year playing career in which he hit .284, Stengel became one of the game’s greatest managers. He was on the bench for 25 seasons with the Brooklyn Dodgers, Boston Braves, New York Yankees and New York Mets. With the Yankees, Stengel won 10 American League pennants, including seven World Series titles, in 12 years. His 1,905 wins rank 11th on the all-time list and his seven championships are tied with Joe McCarthy for the most in baseball history.