1992 Induction Ceremony

From left: Tom Seaver, Rollie Fingers and Hal Newhouser were inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1992. (National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)Tom Seaver and Rollie Fingers headlined the 1992 Hall of Fame class, in a year that saw the Aug. 2 ceremony move to a field adjacent to the Clark Sports Gymnasium -- where it is still held today. An estimated 20,000 people and 37 Hall of Famers saw Seaver, Fingers and Veterans Committee selections Hal Newhouser and Bill McGowan honored. Milo Hamilton was given the Ford C. Frick award for broadcast excellence, and Ritter Collett was presented with the J.G. Taylor Spink award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing.

TOM SEAVER: In his first year of eligibility, Seaver received the highest percentage of votes in history, nabbing 98.8 percent of the 430 ballots cast by the BBWAA. He was a franchise power pitcher who helped change the New York Mets from lovable losers into formidable foes. The 12-time All-Star won 311 games with a 2.86 ERA over 20 seasons and his 3,272 strikeouts set a National League record. Seaver fanned 3,640 batters in his career, including 200 or more 10 times and 19 in a single game once. Tom Terrific hurled a no-hitter against the St. Louis Cardinals on June 16, 1978. He was the 1967 National League Rookie of the Year and a three-time Cy Young Award winner. His No. 41 is retired by the Mets.

ROLLIE FINGERS: Fingers captured 81.2 percent of the vote in his second appearance on the ballot. A modern-day relief ace, Fingers notched 341 career saves with the Athletics, Padres and Brewers. Known for his handlebar moustache and rely on a sharp slider, Fingers became a familiar sight during the postseason, appearing in 16 World Series games. In Oakland, he won three straight World Series titles from 1972-1974. The seven-time All-Star won both the American League MVP and Cy Young Award with the Brewers in 1981, and was the World Series MVP for the Athletics in 1974. His No. 34 is retired by both the Athletics and Brewers.

HAL NEWHOUSER: Elected by the Veterans Committee, Newhouser was a back-to-back American League MVP Award winner in 1944 and 1945. During the 1945 season, he won the pitcher’s triple crown by leading the league in wins (25), strikeouts (212) and earned run average (1.81). In 17 season -15 with Detroit - Newhouser tallied 207 wins and a 3.06 lifetime ERA. The six-time All-Star hurled the pennant clincher for the Tigers in 1945 and followed with two World Series victories over the Chicago Cubs. Detroit retired Newhouser’s No. 16 in 1997.

BILL McGOWAN: McGowan introduced a colorful umpiring style to the game, with aggressive gestures that bordered on the pugnacious. An American League umpire for 30 seasons, his hustle and skill commanded the players' respect. McGowan was an iron man among umpires -- not missing an inning for 16 years (2,541 consecutive games). He was behind the plate for the first-ever American League pennant playoff game, in which Cleveland defeated Boston, 8-3, on Oct. 4, 1948.