2005 Induction Ceremony

Wade Boggs and Ryne Sandberg were enshrined on Sunday, July 31, 2005 in front of 48 of the 60 living Hall of Famers and 27,000 fans. With the addition of Boggs and Sandberg, the 50 total Hall of Famers matched the largest gathering of Hall of Fame members in one location at any point in history, tying the 2004 induction ceremony. San Diego Padres broadcaster Jerry Coleman was honored as the Ford C. Frick award winner and the J.G. Taylor Spink award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing went to longtime Boston Globe writer and current ESPN analyst Peter Gammons.

WADE BOGGS: Boggs became the 41st player elected in his first year of eligibility, receiving 91.86 percent of the votes. Playing 18 major league seasons with the Boston Red Sox, New York Yankees and Tampa Bay Rays, Boggs finished his career with 3,010 hits. Of the 25 players with 3,000 or more hits, Boggs is the only one whose 3,000th hit was a home run, in 1999 for the Tampa Bay Devil Rays. The nine-time All-Star won five batting titles during his 11 seasons with the Boston Red Sox and had an AL-record seven consecutive years of 200 or more hits. In five years with the New York Yankees, Boggs was a two-time Gold Glove winner and a member of the 1996 World Series champions.

Wade Boggs and Ryne Sandberg were inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2005. (National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)RYNE SANDBERG: Elected in his third year of eligibility, Sandberg received 76.2 percent of the electorate. Sandberg retired with a .285 career batting average, 282 home runs and 1,061 RBI over 16 seasons, all but one with the Chicago Cubs. He hit a career high and league-leading 40 long balls in 1990, was the 1984 National League MVP and a 10-time All-Star. He retired with 277 home runs as a second baseman, a number only Jeff Kent has topped. One of the best defensive second baseman of all-time, Sandberg also holds the record highest career fielding percentage at the position (.980), consecutive games in one season without an error (90 in 1989) and consecutive games over two seasons (123).