2010 Induction Ceremony

Andre Dawson earned his plaque in Cooperstown in 2010. (Milo Stewart Jr./National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)

Baseball's most exclusive club welcomed new members on July 25, 2010, with the biggest names the game has ever known right there to see it. Fifty Hall of Famers graced the stage in Cooperstown during the annual Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony as Andre Dawson, Doug Harvey and Whitey Herzog were inducted as the Class of 2010 in front of a cheering crowd of an estimated 10,000 fans and a nation of supporters watching from home live on MLB Network. Dawson, Harvey and Herzog each became a bit emotional during their induction speeches at the three-hour ceremony, which also featured the honoring of Jon Miller and Bill Madden as the Ford C. Frick and J.G. Taylor Spink Award winners, respectively. 

ANDRE DAWSON: Andre Dawson was elected to the Hall of Fame on Jan. 6 in his ninth try on the Baseball Writers' Association of America ballot...Dawson was named on 420 of 539 BBWAA ballots (77.9 percent), clearing the 75-percent figure necessary for election by 15 votes...Dawson, known as the "Hawk" for his outstanding defense in center field and right field, finished his 21-year big league career with a .279 average, 438 home runs, 1,591 runs batted in and 314 stolen bases...Dawson was the National League Rookie of the Year with the Expos in 1977 and the NL Most Valuable Player in 1987 Hall of Fame President Jeff Idelson (left) poses with Whitey Herzog and his new Hall of Fame plaque. (Milo Stewart Jr./National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)with the Cubs...The eight-time All-Star underwent 12 knee surgeries during his career but ended up with more than 400 home runs and 300 stolen bases, a feat achieved by only two other players in history, Willie Mays and Barry Bonds...Dawson also played for the Red Sox and the Marlins...Dawson credits his mother, Mattie Brown, and his grandmother, Eunice Taylor, for his development as a player...He will wear an Expos cap on his Hall of Fame plaque, which will include reference to all four teams Dawson played for. 

WHITEY HERZOG: The Veterans Committee for Managers and Umpires elected former Rangers, Angels, Royals and Cardinals manager Whitey Herzog to the Hall of Fame on Dec. 7...Herzog, who won six division titles, three National League pennants and the 1982 World Series, received 14 of 16 votes from the Veterans Committee – two more than necessary to clear the 75-percent level needed for election...Herzog led the Royals to three straight American League West titles from 1976-78, then landed with the Cardinals in 1980...He led the Cardinals to NL pennants in 1982, 1985 and 1987 – leading the Redbirds to the '82 World Series title in a classic seven-game series against the Brewers...Doug Harvey is the ninth umpire to be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame. (Milo Stewart Jr./National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)Herzog was named the 1985 NL Manager of the Year by the BBWAA...He finished with a career record of 1,281-1,125 for a .532 winning percentage...His 1,281 wins rank 32nd on the all-time list. 

DOUG HARVEY: The Veterans Committee for Managers and Umpires elected former National League arbiter Doug Harvey to the Hall of Fame on Dec. 7...Harvey worked in 4,673 regular-season big league games and was a crew chief in 18 of his 31 seasons (1962-92)...He received 15 of 16 votes from the Veterans Committee – three more than necessary to clear the 75-percent level needed for election...He is just the ninth umpire to earn election to the Hall of Fame and the first to be elected since Nestor Chylak in 1999...Harvey worked nine National League Championship Series (1970, 1972, 1976, 1980, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1989, 1991), six All-Star Games (1963, 1964, 1971, 1977, 1982, 1992) and five World Series (1968, 1974, 1981, 1984, 1988)...He ejected just 43 people in his 31 seasons, an average of just 1.4 per season.