2011 Award Winners

Three men will be honored at the new Hall of Fame Awards Presentation on Saturday during Hall of Fame Weekend

March 01, 2011

The 2011 Induction Weekend will feature the debut of a new Saturday afternoon event that will honor the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum annual award winners in a free event at historic Doubleday Field. The Hall of Fame Awards Presentation will salute the 2011 winner of the Ford C. Frick Award for baseball broadcasting excellence, Dave Van Horne, the 2011 J.G. Taylor Spink Award winner for meritorious contributions to baseball journalism, Bill Conlin, and the 2011 Buck O'Neil Award winner, Roland Hemond, with the presentation of the awards and speeches from the award recipients at 4:30 p.m. on Saturday, July 23, at Doubleday Field in Cooperstown.

Dave Van Horne, who has spent the last 42 seasons calling play-by-play action for the Montreal Expos and the Florida Marlins, was selected as the 2011 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum for excellence in baseball broadcasting, on Dec. 8. Van Horne is the first Expos broadcaster to win the Frick Award. He is the second Marlins broadcaster honored, joining Felo Ramirez, a Spanish-language broadcaster, and the second Frick Award winner to have called games for a Canadian team, following Tony Kubek, who broadcast games for the Blue Jays and was honored in 2009. Van Horne was a part of the original Expos broadcast team in 1969 before taking over as the Marlins' lead radio voice in 2001.

Bill Conlin, who has spent more than 40 years covering Major League Baseball in Philadelphia, was elected the 2011 winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America on Dec. 7. Conlin will be honored with the award that is presented annually to a sportswriter "for meritorious contributions to baseball writing". Conlin received 188 votes from the 434 ballots cast (including three blank ballots) by BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years' service. He is the 62nd winner of the award, named for its first recipient and given annually since 1962. Bob Elliott, whose writing career is considered strongly influential in the growing popularity of baseball in Canada, received 160 votes. Joe Giuliotti, who spent 30 years on the baseball beat in Boston, got 83 votes.

On Feb. 22, The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum's Board of Directors selected Roland Hemond as the second recipient of the John Jordan "Buck" O'Neil Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to an individual for extraordinary efforts to enhance baseball's positive impact on society. Hemond revolutionized front-office management and strategy during a seven-decade career in baseball, while spending his post-general manager days assisting baseball family members in need. He currently works in the Arizona Diamondbacks' front office and also serves as the president of the Association of Professional Baseball Players of America, which provides financial assistance and college scholarships to current and former players, scouts and others connected with pro baseball. Hemond also helped found the Professional Baseball Scouts Foundation, designed to provide assistance to longtime scouts who are in need of special support.

For more information on Hall of Fame Weekend, click here.