Baseball Writers’ Association of America Election Results Revealed Wednesday, Jan. 9

Announcement to be Carried Live on MLB Network and Simulcast on; Class of 2013 Enshrined July 28

January 07, 2013

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – The countdown is on for the start of the 2013 baseball season, and the year’s most anticipated moment comes Wednesday, Jan. 9, with the announcement of the results of the annual Baseball Writers’ Association of America Hall of Fame election. 

The results of the 70th BBWAA Hall of Fame election will be revealed at 2 p.m. ET on Jan. 9. MLB Network will carry the announcement live as Hall of Fame President Jeff Idelson delivers the results. The announcement will also be simulcast on and at 

The 2013 BBWAA ballot features 37 players, including 24 new candidates and 13 returnees. Any candidate who receives votes on at least 75 percent of all ballots cast will be enshrined into the Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2013 along with umpire Hank O’Day, former Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19th Century star Deacon White, all of whom were elected by the Pre-Integration Era Committee in December. 

The 37 candidates (with the returnees in bold and their 2012 BBWAA election percentage in parenthesis) include: Sandy Alomar Jr., Jeff Bagwell (56.0%), Craig Biggio, Barry Bonds, Jeff Cirillo, Royce Clayton, Roger Clemens, Jeff Conine, Steve Finley, Julio Franco, Shawn Green, Roberto Hernandez, Ryan Klesko, Kenny Lofton, Edgar Martinez (36.5%), Don Mattingly (17.8%), Fred McGriff (23.9%), Mark McGwire (19.5%), Jose Mesa, Jack Morris (66.7%), Dale Murphy (14.5%), Rafael Palmeiro (12.6%), Mike Piazza, Tim Raines (48.7%), Reggie Sanders, Curt Schilling, Aaron Sele, Lee Smith (50.6%), Sammy Sosa, Mike Stanton, Alan Trammell (36.8%), Larry Walker (22.9%), Todd Walker, David Wells, Rondell White, Bernie Williams (9.6%) and Woody Williams. 

The Class of 2013 will be enshrined July 28 in Cooperstown as part of the July 26-29 Induction Weekend. Admission to the 1:30 p.m. Induction Ceremony at Cooperstown’s Clark Sports Center is free and open to the public. For more information, please visit

The Museum has teamed up with Sports Travel and Tours to offer baseball fans a one-stop opportunity to purchase Induction Weekend travel packages. For more information or to plan a trip to Cooperstown, please call 1-888-310-HALL (4255). Membership participants receive a 5% discount on all their baseball travel packages. 

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open seven days a week year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The Museum observes regular hours of 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. from Labor Day until Memorial Day Weekend. From Memorial Day Weekend through the day before Labor Day, the Museum observes summer hours of 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. Ticket prices are $19.50 for adults (13 and over), $12 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $7 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children 6 years of age or younger.  For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.