Cooperstown to be Colored Red, White and Blue for May 24 Hall of Fame Classic with American Flags

Woodmen of the World Donating 5,000 American Flags to Fans in Celebration of Longstanding Link Between Baseball and the Military

May 21, 2014

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) On a uniquely American weekend in Cooperstown, Doubleday Field will be decked out in Red, White and Blue.

The first 5,000 fans to enter Doubleday Field for the May 24 Hall of Fame Classic will receive an American flag, compliments of Woodmen of the World. The Omaha, Neb.-based life insurance society has a nationwide program in place to foster the donation of American flags. The first 5,000 ticket holders will receive a flag upon entry.

Hall of Fame legends Roberto AlomarAndre DawsonRollie FingersEddie MurrayPhil Niekro and Ozzie Smith will join players representing the 30 big league clubs for Hall of Fame Classic Weekend, highlighted by the annual legends game at 2:05 p.m. on Saturday, May 24 at Doubleday Field. The Cooperstown Game Day Parade, showcasing appearances by Hall of Fame Members and major league players on Main Street, will start the festivities at noon on Saturday, with the Home Run Derby to follow at 1 p.m. at Doubleday Field.

The Hall of Fame Classic, which returns for a Memorial Day Weekend date for the second year in a row, celebrates the longstanding connection between baseball and the military. Game rosters feature a representation from each of the 30 major league teams. To date, the lineup for the 2014 Hall of Fame Classic features players who represent two Most Valuable Player Awards, three Cy Young Awards, three World Series MVPs, two All-Star Game MVPs, a combined 66 All-Star Game selections, 18 Gold Glove Awards, and a member of the 600 Home Run Club. Players scheduled to participate in the Classic as of May 21 include:

Edgardo Alfonzo (Mets) Scott Hatteberg (A’s) Aaron Rowand (White Sox)
Steve Avery (Braves) Livan Hernandez (Nationals) Kirk Rueter (Giants)
Vinny Castilla (Rockies) Todd Hollandsworth (Cubs) Reggie Sanders (Reds)
Brady Clark (Brewers) Todd Jones (Tigers)  Mike Sweeney (Royals)
Jeff Conine (Marlins) Mark Kotsay (Padres) Jim Thome (Indians)
David Eckstein (Angels) Pedro Martinez (Red Sox) Dan Wheeler (Rays)
Adam Everett (Astros) Hideki Matsui (Yankees) Jack Wilson (Pirates)
Steve Garvey (Dodgers) Carl Pavano (Twins)  
Alex Gonzalez (Blue Jays) Kerry Robinson (Cardinals)  
Luis Gonzalez (D-Backs) Ivan Rodriguez (Rangers)  

Tickets for the Hall of Fame Classic are $12.50 for first and third base seats and $11 for general admission outfield seats. Tickets are currently available via phone or online. Ticket packages and individual Game tickets are available online or by calling at 1-877-726-9028 

The Hall of Fame will be closed on Thursday, May 22, but will reopen at 9 a.m. on Friday, May 23. Beginning Sunday, May 25, the Museum will be open daily from 9 a.m. until 9 p.m.