Fans Cast Their Votes for Frick Award Ballot Candidates at Museum’s Facebook Page

More Than 165 Broadcasters Eligible for 2014 Frick Award

September 11, 2013

COOPERSTOWN, NY) They are the voices of today – and the historians of tomorrow. The baseball broadcasters of the last three decades have described some of the National Pastime’s greatest moments and thrilled fans from coast to coast. 

This fall, one of them will win broadcasting’s most prestigious award. 

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is currently hosting the annual Ford C. Frick Award online ballot vote through 5 p.m. ET on Sept. 30, giving fans the chance to select their favorite broadcaster as one of three fan choices on the final 10-person ballot for the 2014 Frick Award. The Ford C. Frick Award has been presented annually since 1978 by the Museum for excellence in baseball broadcasting. Annual winners are announced as part of the Baseball Winter Meetings each year, while awardees are presented with their honor the following summer during Hall of Fame Weekend in Cooperstown, New York. 

The 2014 Frick Award online voting reflects changes in the selection process where eligible candidates are grouped together by years of most significant contributions of their broadcasting careers. The new cycle begins with the High Tide Era, which features broadcasters whose main body of work came from the mid-1980s – the start of the regional cable network era – through the present. 

Fans can vote once a day for their favorite broadcaster at the Hall of Fame's Facebook page. More than 165 broadcasters are eligible within in the High Tide Era. The totality of each candidate’s career will be considered, though the era in which the broadcaster is deemed to have had the most significant impact will be determined by a Hall of Fame research team. 

Broadcasters eligible in the High Tide Era are: 

Juan Alicea, Rod Allen, Larry Andersen, Joe Angel, Juan Angel Avila, Alan Ashby, Uri Berenguer, Steve Blass, Bert Blyleven, Dick Bremer, Thom Brennaman, Ken Brett, Bill Brown, Greg Brown, Rodger Brulotte, Joe Buck, Steve Busby, Dave Campbell,  Chip Caray, Skip Caray, Bob Carpenter, Joe Castiglione, Bob Chandler,  Alain Chantelois, Don Chevrier, Gary Cohen, Jack Corrigan, Ulpiano Cos Villa, Vince Cotroneo, Bob Davis, Jim Deshaies, Dan Dickerson, Larry Dierker,  Jacques Doucet, Al Downing, Ron Fairly, Ed Farmer, Ray Fosse, Lanny Frattare, George Frazier, Tito Fuentes, Dan Gladden, Drew Goodman, John Gordon, George Grande, Mark Grant, Hank Greenwald, Tom Grieve, Wayne Hagin, Tom Hamilton, Ken Harrelson, Fran Healy, Mike Hegan, Erwin Higueros, Norm Hitzges, Mark Holtz, Jerry Howarth, Al Hrabosky, Rick Horton, Rex Hudler, Pat Hughes, Jim Hunter, Tommy Hutton, Mario Impemba, Darren Jackson, Jim Kaat, Todd Kalas,  Al Kaline, Len Kasper, Michael Kay, Bill King, Jeff Kingery, Ken Korach,  Mike Krukow, Duane Kuiper, Glen Kuiper, Bob Kurtz, Ryan Lefebvre, Ted Leitner, Josh Lewin, John Lowenstein, Steve Lyons, Joe Magrane, Fred Manfra, Rick Manning, Buck Martinez, Andy Masur, Tom McCarthy, Dan McLaughlin, Hector Molina, Rick Monday, Sean McDonough,  Bob Montgomery, Joe Morgan, Bobby Murcer, Andy Musser, Jose Mota, Eric Nadel, Jim Northrup, Dave O’Brien, Enrique Oliu, Fergie Oliver, Eleno Ornelas, Don Orsillo, Eduardo Ortega, Tom Paciorek, Jim Palmer, Greg Papa, Steve Physioc, Amaury Pi-Gonzalez, Ross Porter, Jim Powell, Jim Price, Luis “Yiky” Quintana, Miguel Quintana, Jay Randolph, Bob Rathbun, Claude Raymond, Jerry Remy, Rick Rizzs, Brooks Robinson, Ted Robinson, Cookie Rojas, Jim Rooker, John Rooney, Howie Rose, Francisco Ernesto Ruiz, John Sanders, Ron Santo, Bill Schroeder, Greg Schulte, Tom Seaver, Mike Shannon, Dan Shulman, Joe Simpson, Ken Singleton,  Charlie Slowes, Oscar Soria, Paul Splittorff, Dewayne Staats, Rusty Staub, Charley Steiner, John Sterling, Steve Stone, Raul Striker Jr., Daron Sutton, Don Sutton, Pat Tabler, Ricardo Taveras, Mario Zapiain Thomas, Gary Thorne, Denny Trease, Alex Trevino, Jerry Trupiano, Fernando Valenzuela, Pete Van Wieren, Matt Vasgersian, Beto Villa, Bob Walk, Rich Waltz, Chris Welsh, Chris Wheeler, Fred White, Dave Wills, Mike Wilner,  Ken Wilson, Bill Worrell and Pepe Yniguez. 

Following the selection of the three fan ballot candidates through the online vote, a Hall of Fame research committee will set the remainder of the ballot. The final 10-name ballot will be announced in early October. 

The 20-member Frick Award Committee will cast ballots during November, with the 2014 winner to be announced during the 2013 Baseball Winter Meetings from Orlando, Fla., December 10-11. The Frick Award electorate is comprised of the 16 living Frick Award recipients and four broadcast historians/columnists, including Frick honorees Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Tim McCarver, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker, Dave Van Horne and Bob Wolff, and historians/columnists Bob Costas (NBC/MLB Network), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian). 

The three-year cycle for the Frick Award will continue in the fall of 2014 with the Living Room Era, which will feature candidates whose most significant years fell during the mid-1950s through the early 1980s. 

Thirty-seven broadcasters have been presented with the Frick Award with Mel Allen and Red Barber selected as the first recipients in 1978. A single winner has been selected in each year following, with the late Tom Cheek receiving the honor in 2013. 

Voters are asked to base their selections on longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with fans. To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two. 

The Ford C. Frick Award was named in memory of the sportswriter, radio broadcaster, National League president and Baseball commissioner.  The complete list of recipients includes:

Ford C. Frick Award Recipients

1978 Mel Allen 1990 By Saam 2003 Bob Uecker
  Red Barber 1991 Joe Garagiola 2004 Lon Simmons
1979 Bob Elson 1992 Milo Hamilton 2005 Jerry Coleman
1980 Russ Hodges 1993 Chuck Thompson 2006 Gene Elston
1981 Ernie Harwell 1994 Bob Murphy 2007 Denny Matthews
1982 Vin Scully 1995 Bob Wolff 2008 Dave Niehaus
1983 Jack Brickhouse 1996 Herb Carneal 2009 Tony Kubek
1984 Curt Gowdy 1997 Jimmy Dudley 2010 Jon Miller
1985 Buck Canel 1998 Jaime Jarrin 2011 Dave Van Horne
1986 Bob Prince 1999 Arch McDonald 2012 Tim McCarver
1987 Jack Buck 2000 Marty Brennaman 2013 Tom Cheek
1988 Lindsey Nelson 2001 Felo Ramirez    
1989 Harry Caray 2002 Harry Kalas    

For more information on the Ford C. Frick Award, please visit 

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open seven days a week year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The Museum observes regular hours of 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. from Labor Day until Memorial Day Weekend. From Memorial Day Weekend through the day before Labor Day, the Museum observes summer hours of 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. Ticket prices are $19.50 for adults (13 and over), $12 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $7 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children 6 years of age or younger.  For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.