Postal Service to Unveil New Stamps Depicting Four Hall of Fame Legends on Friday in Cooperstown

Hall of Famer Tony Gwynn to Attend Celebration as Joe DiMaggio, Larry Doby, Willie Stargell and Ted Williams Honored on ‘Forever’ Stamps at Museum

July 16, 2012

COOPERSTOWN, NY – On the weekend when heroes return to Cooperstown, some of the game’s legendary names of yesteryear will be honored with a uniquely American celebration at the home of baseball. 

Hall of Famer Tony Gwynn will help celebrate the lives of four Hall of Fame teammates on Friday during the First-Day-of-Issue Major League Baseball All-Stars stamps dedication ceremony in Cooperstown. 

The new Baseball Legends Stamps will be unveiled at 10 a.m. on July 20 at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. The dedication ceremony, which is an invitation-only event, will be shown for fans via closed-circuit television in Cooper Park adjacent to the Museum. Available nationwide that day, the stamps can also be purchased at the Museum and the Cooperstown Post Office. 

Four of baseball’s most revered Hall of Famers will be immortalized on 45-cent First-Class Forever stamps. Appearing on the Major League Baseball All-Stars sheet of 20 stamps will be Joe DiMaggio of the New York Yankees; Larry Doby of the Cleveland Indians; Willie Stargell of the Pittsburgh Pirates; and Ted Williams of the Boston Red Sox. 

Brian Kenny of MLB Network will serve as emcee, with remarks from Jane Forbes Clark, Chairman of the Board of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum; Patrick R. Donahoe, United States Postmaster General; and Louis J. Giuliano, member of the United States Postal Service Board of Governors. Honored guests will include Larry Doby Jr. (son of Larry Doby), Margaret Weller-Stargell (wife of Willie Stargell) and Kathie DiMaggio Stein (granddaughter of Joe DiMaggio). 

The stamps were designed by artist-illustrator Kadir Nelson of Los Angeles and are based on historic photographs. Phil Jordan of Falls Church, Va., served as art director. 

Tony Gwynn was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2007 after a stellar 20-year big league career with the San Diego Padres in which he compiled a .338 career batting average and won eight National League batting titles. 

Tony Gwynn’s daughter, recording artist Anisha Nicole, will perform the National Anthem at the dedication ceremony. 

The dedication ceremony will be one of many exciting events of the July 20-23 Hall of Fame Weekend, which will feature the induction of Barry Larkin and Ron Santo as the Class of 2012. The Induction Ceremony will be held at 1:30 p.m. ET on July 22 at the Clark Sports Center, one mile south of the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown.

For more information on Hall of Fame Weekend 2012, please visit

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open seven days a week year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The Museum observes regular hours of 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. from Labor Day until Memorial Day Weekend. From Memorial Day Weekend through the day before Labor Day, the Museum observes summer hours of 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. Ticket prices are $19.50 for adults (13 and over), $12 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $7 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children 6 years of age or younger.  For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.