Returning Hall of Famers to Honor Gehrig, Hornsby and the Class of 1945 at July 28 Induction Ceremony in Cooperstown

Living Legends Will Read Plaque Text of Honored Hall of Famers

July 12, 2013

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – They are a who’s who of the greatest stars baseball has ever known, and they paved the way for those that follow them to Cooperstown.

Now, Lou Gehrig, Rogers Hornsby and the entire Hall of Fame Class of 1945 will receive the game’s ultimate honor as the National Pastime’s living legends pay tribute to them with a formal induction of their plaques at the July 28 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

The 2013 Hall of Fame Weekend will feature the induction of Hank O’Day, Jacob Ruppert and Deacon White as the Class of 2013 on Sunday, July 28 at Cooperstown’s Clark Sports Center. The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum will also salute a dozen past electees who never experienced an Induction Ceremony. Twelve men elected between 1939 and 1945 will be celebrated as returning Hall of Famers read the text of their Hall of Fame plaques in their honor.

Due to travel restrictions and illness, none of the 12 inductees to be honored July 28 experienced a formal induction in Cooperstown.

Hall of Famers to be honored include:

Class of 1945

Class of 1942

Elected by Special Acclamation in December 1939

Forty Hall of Famers are expected to return to Cooperstown to celebrate the enshrinement of the Class of 2013 July 26-28. O’Day, Ruppert and White were elected to the Hall of Fame in December by the Pre-Integration Era Committee.

The Induction Ceremony will take place on Sunday, July 28, with ceremonies beginning at 1:30 p.m. ET. The 2013 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will air live on MLB Network.

On Saturday, July 27, the Hall of Fame Awards Presentation will be held at 4:30 p.m. at Doubleday Field, where the returning Hall of Famers will gather on stage to honor the 2013 Award Winners. Longtime Philadelphia baseball scribe and current writer Paul Hagen will receive the Baseball Writers’ Association of America’s J.G. Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing, and legendary Blue Jays broadcaster Tom Cheek will be posthumously honored with the Hall of Fame’s Ford C. Frick Award for major contributions to baseball broadcasting.

The Awards Presentation will also feature a salute to Legendary Entertainment CEO Thomas Tull, whose studio produced the Jackie Robinson biopic “42” as well as the honoring of Dr. Frank Jobe, who pioneered the surgical procedure now known as “Tommy John Surgery.” John, the former big league pitcher who was the first to undergo the procedure, will also be on hand.

Admission to both the July 27 Awards Presentation and the July 28 Induction Ceremony is free.

For information on Hall of Fame Weekend 2013, please visit or call 607-547-7200.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open seven days a week year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The Museum observes summer hours of 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. from Memorial Day Weekend until the day before Labor Day. From Labor Day until Memorial Day Weekend, the Museum observes daily regular hours of 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. Ticket prices are $19.50 for adults (13 and over), $12 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $7 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children 6 years of age or younger.  For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.