Voting to Determine Fan Selections for 2013 Frick Award Ballot Begins Monday

All Broadcasters with 10 or more years consecutive service eligible; Top 40 finishers to move on for final consideration by the fans

August 15, 2012
Ford C. Frick (NBHOF Library)

COOPERSTOWN, NY – For nearly a century, fans of the National Pastime have been directly connected to the game they dearly love through the friendly voices of baseball broadcasting. In recent years, thousands have turned to social media to garner updates of their favorite teams and players.

Starting next week, the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum will bring together the best of both mediums, as the annual fan selection process begins for the 2013 Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually by the Cooperstown institution for excellence in baseball broadcasting. 

Online voting for fan selections for the 2013 Frick Award ballot will begin at 10 a.m. ET on Monday, Aug. 20 at the Hall of Fame’s Facebook site and will conclude at 5 p.m. ET on Sept. 7. Every broadcaster, active or retired, who has broadcast at least 10 consecutive years for a team or network is eligible for consideration during this time, with 222 broadcasters on the list. 

The top 40 broadcasters to garner votes during the three-week period will advance to the Fan Finals to determine three of the 10 names who will comprise the ballot and be advanced to the Frick Award Committee for consideration this fall. Bios of each eligible candidate will appear at throughout the voting. 

The second round of fan voting will take place Sept. 10 through Oct. 5, at the Hall of Fame’s website and Facebook page. The final 10-name ballot, featuring three fan selections and seven candidates determined by a Hall of Fame committee, will be announced on Oct. 9. The 2013 Frick Award winner will be selected by a 21-member electorate, with the winner to be announced at baseball’s Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn., in early December. 

Presented annually since 1978 for excellence in baseball broadcasting, the Ford C. Frick Award is given to an active or retired broadcaster with a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two. The Frick electorate includes all living Award-winners and five historians/veteran media members appointed by the Hall of Fame. 

The voting electorate consists of 21 members, featuring 2012 Ford C. Frick Award winner Tim McCarver and the other 15 living Frick Award winners: Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Milo Hamilton,  Jaime Jarrin, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker, Dave Van Horne and Bob Wolff. The five historians and veteran media members also part of the electorate include: Bob Costas (NBC/MLB Network), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of New York Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian). 

For the 10th consecutive year, fans will choose members of the ballot through online voting. In 2011, Tom Cheek, Jacques Doucet and Mike Shannon earned spots on the final Frick Award ballot via fan voting. More than 37,000 votes were cast. 

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open seven days a week year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The Museum observes summer hours of 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. from Memorial Day Weekend until the day before Labor Day. From Labor Day until Memorial Day Weekend, the Museum observes daily regular hours of 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. Ticket prices are $19.50 for adults (13 and over), $12 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $7 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children 6 years of age or younger.  For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.