Big Names, Biggest Honor

2013 BBWAA Hall of Fame election results announced Jan. 9

November 27, 2012

The 2007 MLB season marked the final campaign for some of the biggest names of the last two decades.

Today, many of those players have taken the first step to Cooperstown by landing on the 2013 Baseball Writers’ Association of America Hall of Fame ballot.

The BBWAA released the 37-man ballot on Wednesday, and the 600-plus eligible voters have until Dec. 31 to return their ballots. The ballot consists of 24 newcomers plus 13 returning candidates.

To earn a BBWAA Hall of Fame vote, voters must be 10-year BBWAA members who are in good standing in the organization.

The results of the election will be announced Jan. 9 live on MLB Network and at the Baseball Hall of Fame's website, and any candidate named on at least 75 percent of ballots submitted will be enshrined at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown on July 28.

Barry Larkin was the only candidate to be named on 75 percent of ballots cast in 2012. Thirteen other candidates received last least five percent of the vote and will return to the ballot this year per election rules. Candidates who receive less than five percent of the vote in any BBWAA Hall of Fame election are dropped from future BBWAA consideration.

Former Tigers, Blue Jays, Twins and Indians pitcher Jack Morris received the highest percentage of the vote among players who were not elected in 2012. Morris was named on 66.7 percent of the 573 ballots cast, falling 48 votes short of election.

Others returning to the BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot include (with their 2012 vote percentage in parentheses): Jeff Bagwell (56.0%), Lee Smith (50.6%), Tim Raines (48.7%), Alan Trammell (36.8%), Edgar Martinez (36.5%), Fred McGriff (23.9%), Larry Walker (22.9%), Mark McGwire (19.5%), Don Mattingly (17.8%), Dale Murphy (14.5%), Rafael Palmeiro (12.6%) and Bernie Williams (9.6%).

Candidates who are making their debut on the BBWAA ballot include: Sandy Alomar Jr., Craig Biggio, Barry Bonds, Jeff Cirillo, Royce Clayton, Roger Clemens, Jeff Conine, Steve Finley, Julio Franco, Shawn Green, Roberto Hernandez, Ryan Klesko, Kenny Lofton, Jose Mesa, Mike Piazza, Reggie Sanders, Curt Schilling, Aaron Sele, Sammy Sosa, Mike Stanton, Todd Walker, David Wells, Rondell White and Woody Williams.

Craig Muder is the director of communications for the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

Induction Weekend 2013

Any candidates elected by the BBWAA will join any elected by the Pre-Integration Era Committee in December to form the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013. Hall of Fame Weekend 2013 will be held July 26-29 in Cooperstown, with the induction scheduled for 1:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, July 28 at the Clark Sports Center. Admission to the annual Induction Ceremony is free.

Secretary/Treasurer of the BBWAA Jack O'Connell discusses the voting process