Press Releases

The Hall's newest Electee Barry Larkin poses with Hall of Fame Chairman Jane Forbes Clark and President Jeff Idelson. (Milo Stewart Jr./NBHOF Library)

Barry Larkin, a 12-time All-Star, nine-time Silver Slugger and three-time Gold Glove winning shortstop, was elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America in balloting verified by Ernst & Young.

COOPERSTOWN, NY – Thanks to the power of the internet and podcasts, fans can now stay connected to Cooperstown and the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum year-round through Cooperstown Conversations.

COOPERSTOWN, NY – The countdown is on for the start of the 2012 baseball season, and the year’s most anticipated moment comes Monday, January 9, with the announcement of the results of the annual Baseball Writers’ Association of America Hall of Fame election.

The results of the 69th BBWAA Hall of Fame election will be revealed at 3 p.m. ET on Jan. 9. MLB Network will carry the announcement live as Hall of Fame President Jeff Idelson delivers the results. The announcement will also be simulcast on and at

COOPERSTOWN, NY – Tim McCarver, who has served as a national analyst on networks for three decades and simultaneously shined as part of broadcast teams with four big league clubs, has been selected as the 2012 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Bob Elliott, who has been a positive influence on an entire country for the past 30 years as a writer, columnist and ambassador for baseball and Canada, was elected the 2012 winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

He will be honored with the award that is presented annually to a sportswriter “for meritorious contributions to baseball writing” during the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum’s induction weekend July 20-23 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Ron Santo was the lone choice of the Golden Era Committee to join the ranks of the Hall of Fame in 2012. (Doug McWilliams/NBHOF Library)

Dallas, TX - Ron Santo, a nine-time All-Star who amassed 342 home runs and five Gold Glove awards, has been elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Golden Era Committee, it was announced today.

Santo was the lone candidate to garner the necessary 75% of votes cast by the 16-member Golden Era Committee, which considered a ballot of eight former players and two executives whose contributions to the game were most significant from 1947-1972. The Golden Era Committee held meetings on Sunday in Dallas, site of the baseball winter meetings.

COOPERSTOWN, NY – Baseball fans can help make the season merrier for families in need and experience the magic of the holidays in Cooperstown at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum’s annual Holiday Celebration.

COOPERSTOWN, NY – The celebration of fathers and families over Father’s Day Weekend will return for a fourth consecutive year in 2012, with a shift to the weekend schedule, as the Hall of Fame Classic at Doubleday Field will move from Sunday to Saturday, highlighting a new lineup for Cooperstown’s start-of-summer salute to the game’s legends.

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. -- The Hall of Fame plaques of Puerto Rico’s baseball royalty – Roberto Alomar, Orlando Cepeda, Roberto Clemente and Tony Perez – will leave their home in Cooperstown to travel to Puerto Rico, from December 16-19, as the Hall of Fame pays homage to the homeland of four of its beloved heroes.

COOPERSTOWN, NY – The excitement generated by the St. Louis Cardinals’ memorable World Series victory still resonates weeks after the final out of the 2011 Fall Classic.

That passion and those memories are forever a part of the story of baseball, and the story of the unforgettable 2011 postseason is now told in Cooperstown through “The Cardinals Comeback”, the salute to the World Champions as part of the Autumn Glory exhibit at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Syndicate content