Press Releases

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – The National Baseball Hall of Fame and the United States Mint today unveiled the first-ever curved commemorative coin to honor the 75th anniversary of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. The coin goes on sale today. 

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) Six Hall of Fame legends will be joined by a roster of more than two dozen former major league players for a seven-inning legends game on Saturday, May 24 at Cooperstown’s historic Doubleday Field.

The 2014 Hall of Fame Classic, presented by Ford Motor Company, highlights a weekend of family entertainment programs designed to celebrate the timeless connection of baseball across generations, while saluting the contributions of those who served our nation's military.

Pride and Passion: The African-American Baseball Experience exhibit located on the Museum's second floor. (Milo Stewart, Jr./NBHOF)

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – School’s out for many children during Presidents’ Week in the Northeast, making February a perfect time to experience the award-winning educational programs in Cooperstown as the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum hosts special daily programs for kids of all ages Feb. 17-21 in celebration of Black History Month. 

Hall of Fame Left Fielder Ralph Kiner was elected by the Baseball Writers Association of America in 1975. (NBHOF Library)

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) -- Ralph Kiner passed away Thursday morning at his Rancho Mirage, Calif., home. He was 91. Kiner died of natural causes, passing peacefully with his family at his side.

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – Jeffrey J. Jones has joined the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum as Senior Vice President of Finance and Administration, effective January 15, 2014. 

Jones, who has worked with regional not-for-profit organizations for nearly three decades, replaces Bill Haase, who retired in December following 13 years with the Museum. 

(COOPERSTOWN, N.Y.) – The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum has announced the cap selections that will appear on the Hall of Fame plaques for each of the six members of the Hall of Fame class of 2014.

(COOPERSTOWN, N.Y.) – The six newest members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame will take their permanent place in Cooperstown on Sunday, July 27, highlighting four days of celebratory events and programs for baseball fans of all ages, as part of Hall of Fame Weekend 2014, July 25-28.

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – The game’s legends and heroes call Cooperstown home. But baseball’s biggest fans can make themselves right at home at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum during the Hall’s Extra Innings Overnights program.

For only the second time since the first National Baseball Hall of Fame class in 1936, the Baseball Writers’ Association of America elected three players in their first year of eligibility to the Hall of Fame in balloting verified by Ernst & Young.

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – The most anticipated moment of the baseball year comes Wednesday, Jan. 8, with the announcement of the results of the annual Baseball Writers’ Association of America Hall of Fame election.

The results of the 71st BBWAA Hall of Fame election will be revealed at 2 p.m. ET on Jan. 8. MLB Network will carry the announcement live as Hall of Fame President Jeff Idelson delivers the results. The announcement will also be simulcast on and at

Syndicate content