He joined baseball’s greatest team in 2002, and ever since Ozzie Smith has brought his electric smile and infectious enthusiasm to Hall of Fame Weekend.

And along the way, Ozzie and his Hall of Fame friends have provided unceasing support for the Museum’s Education Program through PLAY Ball.

Smith, the Education Ambassador for the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, hosts PLAY Ball annually on the Friday of Hall of Fame Weekend. Over the years, The Wizard has brought dozens of his fellow Hall of Famers to the event, providing participants with an unforgettable morning filled with on-field moments and stories with Hall of Famers.

PLAY Ball is a Museum fundraiser that supports the Hall of Fame’s educational mission and the Ozzie Smith Diversity Scholarships for the Museum’s Frank and Peggy Steele Internship Program for Youth Leadership Development. Since 2002, the program has raised more than $200,000 for the Museum’s initiatives.

Secure Your Spot

To the top

Participants in PLAY Ball each receive on-field round-robin interaction with the Hall of Famers along with special mementos to commemorate their experience.

The event will begin with an exclusive morning reception in the Hall of Fame Plaque Gallery with Ozzie and his Hall of Fame friends. Following photos, stories and interaction with their Hall of Fame guides, PLAY Ball participants will take the diamond at historic Doubleday Field, where they will receive two hours of instruction along with non-stop interaction from some of the greatest players the game has known.

Reservations are required for PLAY Ball with a cost of $750 per participant.

For more information and to register, please call 607-547-0385.

PLAY BALL Participants (By Year)

To the top
  • 2002

    Ozzie Smith

  • 2003

    Ozzie Smith

  • 2004

    George Brett, Ozzie Smith

  • 2005

    George Brett, Gary Carter, Ozzie Smith

  • 2006

    George Brett, Buck O'Neil, Ryne Sandberg, Ozzie Smith

  • 2007

    George Brett, Brooks Robinson, Ryne Sandberg, Ozzie Smith, Earl Weaver

  • 2008

    George Brett, Eddie Murray, Ozzie Smith

  • 2009

    Wade Boggs, Harmon Killebrew, Eddie Murray, Ozzie Smith

  • 2010

    Paul Molitor, Ozzie Smith, Bruce Sutter

  • 2011

    Rod Carew, Andre Dawson, Whitey Herzog, Ozzie Smith

  • 2012

    Johnny Bench, Carlton Fisk, Paul Molitor, Ozzie Smith

  • 2013

    Bert Blyleven, Juan Marichal, Gaylord Perry, Ozzie Smith

  • 2014

    Johnny Bench, Mike Schmidt, Ozzie Smith

  • 2015

    Andre Dawson, Fergie, Jenkins, Greg Maddux, Ozzie Smith

  • 2016

    Craig Biggio, Goose Gossage, Ozzie Smith, John Smoltz

  • 2017

    Fergie Jenkins, Randy Johnson, Ryne Sandberg, Ozzie Smith

  • 2018

    Jeff Bagwell, Johnny Bench, Tim Raines, Ozzie Smith

  • 2019

    Trevor Hoffman, Ozzie Smith, Jim Thome, Alan Trammell

  • 2022

    Eddie Murray, Cal Ripken Jr., Ozzie Smith, Jim Thome