Hall of Famers and their Signature Pitches

The following is a list of Hall of Fame pitchers, sorted by the types of pitches described on their plaques in Cooperstown.

"Fast ball" or "Fastball"

Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Goose Gossage, Roy Halladay, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martínez, Jose Mendez, Hal Newhouser, Nolan Ryan, Hilton Smith, Lee Smith, John Smoltz, Smokey Joe Williams

"Fire ball"

Amos Rusie

"Fastest ball"

Walter Johnson

"Split-fingered fastball"

Jack Morris, John Smoltz, Bruce Sutter

"Sinking fastball" 

Roy Halladay


Mariano Rivera

"Curve ball"

Ray Brown, Candy Cummings, Jose Mendez, Hilton Smith, Vic Willis

"Breaking ball"

Bert Blyleven


Steve Carlton, Dennis Eckersley, Randy Johnson, Lee Smith, John Smoltz


Trevor Hoffman, Pedro Martínez

"Change of pace"

Tim Keefe, Smokey Joe Williams

"Changing speeds"

Tom Glavine, Fergie Jenkins


Phil Niekro, Hoyt Wilhelm


Burleigh Grimes

Updated December 11, 2023