35th Annual Otesaga Hotel Seniors Open Begins as Hall of Famer Tim Raines Tees Up Pro-Am

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. – With three trips to Cooperstown in less than half a year, Tim Raines can’t help but feel at home at the Hall of Fame.

“The last few months have been a whirlwind,” said Raines, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 30 as a member of the Class of 2017. “It’s been a great year. It seems like everywhere I go now people are finding ways to find me.”

Raines brightened a rainy day in Cooperstown with his electric smile, hosting Tuesday’s Pro-Am portion of the 35th annual Otesaga Hotel Seniors Open. Featuring more than 100 golfers, including nearly 30 pros, the event raised funds for Pathfinder Village, a residential community in nearby Edmeston, N.Y., for children and adults with Down syndrome. More than $2 million has been raised for Pathfinder Village through the years directly benefiting the 90-plus residents of the community, including $50,000 from the proceeds of Tuesday’s Pro-Am. An additional sum of $12,000 was presented to the Baseball Hall of Fame for its educational mission.

On Wednesday, the three-day Seniors Open, presented by NBT Bank and one of the top senior tournaments in the Northeast, begins featuring nearly 90 pros from across the country.

At Tuesday’s Pro-Am, professional Joe Boros led his team to a first-place victory. Additional members of the winning team included Rick Bauerband, Rick Eastman, Bob Harlem and T.R. Ward. The names of the first-place team will be engraved on the Joseph P. Franzese Memorial Trophy, named after the tournament’s founder.

Second-place finishers were led by pro Joe Clark Jr. and featured Matt Burrell, Mark DeTomaso, Dave Theleman and Tim Wilson.

This year’s Pro-Am featured a team from Pathfinder Village, including family, staff and residents.

Hall of Famer Tim Raines served as host of the 35th annual Otesaga Hotel Seniors Open Pro-Am. (By Photographer Milo Stewart Jr./National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum)

Competition in the Seniors Open begins Wednesday morning with 8 a.m. tee times and continues through Friday.

The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the tournament’s title sponsor and has been instrumental in the tournament’s success. Located on the shores of beautiful Otsego Lake in Cooperstown, the Otesaga Resort Hotel has been selected as a “Historic Hotel of America” by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Overlooking picturesque Otsego Lake, the Otesaga Hotel’s Leatherstocking Golf Course is considered one of the East’s most scenic and historic par-72 layouts. Designed by the legendary Devereux Emmet in 1909, Leatherstocking has been rated “four stars” by Golf Digest’s “Places to Play.”

The presenting sponsor for the 2017 tournament is NBT Bank, and the corporate sponsor is Coca-Cola Refreshments.

Steve Ford of Melbourne, Fla., shot a 13-under par 200 over three rounds to capture the 2016 Otesaga Hotel Seniors Open. The complete list of former champions: 2016: Steve Ford; 2015: Craig Thomas; 2014: John Elliott; 2013: Jim Chancey; 2012: Tom Eubank; 2011: Tournament canceled due to rain; 2010: Ed Whitman; 2009: Jeff Roth; 2008: Jerry Tucker; 2007: Scott Spence; 2006: Bobby Heins; 2005: Darrell Kestner; 2004: John Gentile; 2003: Lonnie Nielsen; 2002: Dan Wood; 2001: John Traub; 2000: Paul Parjeckas; 1999: Marty Bohen; 1998: Tony Perla; 1997: John Gentile; 1996: Austin Straub; 1995: Tom Joyce; 1994: Tom Joyce; 1993: Ray Montgomery; 1992: Dave Philo; 1991: Tom Joyce; 1990: Jim Albus; 1989: Dick Sarta; 1988: Pete Hessemer; 1987: Doug Dalziel; 1986: Bob Bruno; 1985: Richard Howell; 1984: Rolland Stafford; 1983: Donald Hoenig.