Hall of Famer Carlton Fisk Returns to Cooperstown to Host Otesaga Hotel Seniors Open Pro-Am Sept. 4

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – His Game 6 home run in the 1975 World Series is the stuff of legend. But it was a career filled with memorable moments that ultimately brought Carlton Fisk to Cooperstown.

In September, Fisk will return to Cooperstown for another special moment – this time in support of Pathfinder Village.

Fisk will serve as the celebrity host for the 36th Annual Otesaga Hotel Seniors Open and Pro-Am Golf Tournament Sept. 4-7 at the Leatherstocking Golf Course in Cooperstown. Fisk will participate with nearly 75 top pros from around the country who are expected to compete in the three-day Seniors Open Wednesday through Friday.

As the Pro-Am master of ceremonies, Fisk – an 11-time All-Star and the 1972 American League Rookie of the Year – will be featured throughout the Tuesday, Sept. 4 Pro-Am and as the speaker at that evening’s fundraiser dinner. The Pro-Am will begin with an 11:30 a.m. shotgun start. For more information on the Pro-Am or to register to play, please visit pathfindervillage.org/get-involved/tournaments.

Proceeds from this event benefit Pathfinder Village located in nearby Edmeston, a residential community dedicated to children and adults with Down syndrome and other developmental disabilities. Annually, the Seniors Open raises more than $50,000 for scholarships for Pathfinder Village and directly helps the Village’s 90-plus residents and students. More than $2.7 million has been raised for Pathfinder Village through the years.

Proceeds also benefit the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum educational programs, which enable the world-famous nonprofit institution to fulfill its educational mission and care for its priceless collections.

The tradition of a Hall of Famer as the Pro-Am master of ceremonies began in 2004 and includes: 2017: Tim Raines; 2016: Rollie Fingers; 2015: Ryne Sandberg; 2014: Bobby Cox; 2013: Rollie Fingers; 2012: Fergie Jenkins; 2011: Johnny Bench; 2010: Jim Rice; 2009: Mike Schmidt; 2008: Harmon Killebrew; 2007: Mike Schmidt; 2006: Robin Roberts; 2005: Carlton Fisk; 2004: Phil Niekro.

The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the tournament’s title sponsor and has been instrumental in its success. Located on the shores of beautiful Otsego Lake in Cooperstown, the Otesaga Resort Hotel has been selected as a “Historic Hotel of America” by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Overlooking picturesque Otsego Lake, the Otesaga Hotel’s Leatherstocking Golf Course is considered one of the East’s most scenic and historic par-72 layouts. Designed by the legendary Devereux Emmet in 1909, Leatherstocking has been rated “four stars” by Golf Digest’s “Places to Play.”

The presenting sponsor for the 2018 tournament is NBT Bank, and the corporate sponsor is Coca-Cola Bottling of Northern New England.

John Elliott of Westerly, R.I., shot an 8-under par 205 over three rounds to capture the 2017 Otesaga Hotel Seniors Open. The complete list of former champions: 2016: Steve Ford; 2015: Craig Thomas; 2014: John Elliott; 2013: Jim Chancey; 2012: Tom Eubank; 2011: Tournament canceled due to rain; 2010: Ed Whitman; 2009: Jeff Roth; 2008: Jerry Tucker; 2007: Scott Spence; 2006: Bobby Heins; 2005: Darrell Kestner; 2004: John Gentile; 2003: Lonnie Nielsen; 2002: Dan Wood; 2001: John Traub; 2000: Paul Parjeckas; 1999: Marty Bohen; 1998: Tony Perla; 1997: John Gentile; 1996: Austin Straub; 1995: Tom Joyce; 1994: Tom Joyce; 1993: Ray Montgomery; 1992: Dave Philo; 1991: Tom Joyce; 1990: Jim Albus; 1989: Dick Sarta; 1988: Pete Hessemer; 1987: Doug Dalziel; 1986: Bob Bruno; 1985: Richard Howell; 1984: Rolland Stafford; 1983: Donald Hoenig.