Jeff Idelson returns to Hall of Fame as Interim President

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – Jane Forbes Clark, Chairman of the Board of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, today announced that Jeff Idelson has been appointed as Interim President of the Hall of Fame through Sept. 8, 2021. Idelson, who served as the Hall of Fame’s President from 2008-2019, begins in this role on Saturday, May 15.

On April 16, Hall of Fame President Tim Mead announced that he would be leaving the organization in mid-May, nearly two years after succeeding Idelson in that role. Idelson had retired from his position as President after 25 years with the Hall of Fame, including an 11-year tenure as the Museum’s President.

The Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors has also appointed a Search Committee, which will identify the Museum’s next President. The members of the Committee are Jane Forbes Clark, as Chair, Commissioner Rob Manfred, Dr. Harvey Schiller, and Hall of Fame Member Cal Ripken, Jr.

In the 82-year history of the organization, seven individuals have served as president: Stephen C. Clark, Sr., founder of the Hall of Fame and grandfather of current Chairman, Jane Forbes Clark; Paul Kerr; Edward W. Stack; Donald C. Marr Jr.; Dale A. Petroskey; Idelson; and Mead.