2020 Ford C. Frick Award Ballot Finalized

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – Eight of the National Pastime’s beloved voices have been named as the finalists for the 2020 Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Candidates from the Current Major League Markets category will be considered for the 2020 Frick Award in accordance with the three-year Frick Award election cycle.

The eight finalists for the 2020 Frick Award are: Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Tom Hamilton, Ken Harrelson, Pat Hughes, Ned Martin, Mike Shannon and Dewayne Staats. The winner of the 2020 Frick Award will be announced on Dec. 11 at the Baseball Winter Meetings in San Diego and will be honored during the July 25 Awards Presentation as part of the July 24-27 Hall of Fame Weekend 2020 in Cooperstown. All candidates except Martin are living.

The Frick Award election cycle rotates annually among Current Major League Markets (team-specific announcers); National Voices (broadcasters whose contributions were realized on a national level); and Broadcasting Beginnings (early team voices and pioneers of baseball broadcasting). This cycle repeats every three years, with the National Voices ballot to be reviewed in the fall of 2020 and the Broadcasting Beginnings ballot to be reviewed in the fall of 2021.

As established by the Board of Directors, criteria for selection is as follows: “Commitment to excellence, quality of broadcasting abilities, reverence within the game, popularity with fans, and recognition by peers.”

Final voting for the 2020 Frick Award will be conducted by an electorate comprised of the 11 living Frick Award recipients and four broadcast historians/columnists, including past Frick honorees Marty Brennaman, Bob Costas, Jaime Jarrín, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Tim McCarver, Jon Miller, Eric Nadel, Vin Scully, Bob Uecker and Dave Van Horne, and historians/columnists David J. Halberstam (historian), Barry Horn (formerly of the Dallas Morning News), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

The 2020 Frick Award ballot was created by a subcommittee of the voting electorate that included Costas, Matthews, Nadel, Smith and Van Horne.

To be considered, an active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two. More than 200 broadcasters were eligible for consideration for the 2020 Frick Award based on these qualifications.

The eight finalists for the 2020 Frick Award:

- Castiglione has spent 40 years calling big league games, the last 37 as the Red Sox’s lead radio voice;
- Doucet spent 33 years broadcasting for the Expos as the play-by-play radio voice on their French network (1969-2004), and he returned to the booth in 2012 as the Blue Jays’ French-speaking TV voice;
- Hamilton has called Indians games on radio for 30 seasons, including the team’s three World Series appearances in that span;
- Harrelson has brought a passionate voice to the air for 42 years for the Red Sox, Yankees and White Sox, including the last 28 years in Chicago;
- Hughes has called MLB games for 37 seasons, starting with the Twins in 1983 before working Brewers games from 1984-95 and serving as the Cubs’ radio voice for the last 24 seasons;
- Martin worked as the Red Sox’s radio and television voice from 1961-92, covering the 1975 World Series for NBC-TV;
- Shannon has called Cardinals games for 48 years following a nine-year playing career with the Redbirds;
- Staats has called big league games for 43 years, including the last 22 as the voice of the Rays on television.

Additional information on the eight finalists can be found here.

The annual award is named in memory of Hall of Famer Ford C. Frick, renowned sportswriter, radio broadcaster, National League president and Baseball Commissioner.

Past winners of the Frick Award are listed here.