2023 Induction Ceremony

The Class of 2023 will be inducted July 23 on the grounds of the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown. Fred McGriff was unanimously elected by the Contemporary Baseball Era Committee on Dec. 4, receiving all 16 possible votes. McGriff will be joined in the Class of 2023 by Scott Rolen, who was elected by the BBWAA on Jan. 24. John Lowe and Pat Hughes will be honored with the BBWAA Career Excellence Award and the Ford C. Frick Award, respectively, during Hall of Fame Weekend 2023, July 21-24.

Sign up to receive Hall of Fame Weekend updates

Please select your communication preferences:


* indicates required fields

Hall of Fame Weekend Info

To the top

The Sunday, July 23, Induction Ceremony will take place on the grounds outside of the Clark Sports Center, which is located on lower Susquehanna Avenue, just one mile south of the Hall of Fame. The Ceremony is held rain or shine, unless severe weather forces the cancellation of the event. Professional interpreters will be provided for the hearing impaired.

The Induction Ceremony historically lasts two-to-three hours. Lawn seating for the event is unlimited and free of charge. A blanket or lawn chair is recommended for comfortable viewing. As the weather in Cooperstown can be warm in July, it is recommended that visitors bring a cap and sunscreen. Clear bags are recommended. All bags are subject to search. Drone flights are prohibited.

Merchandise, including the 2023 Induction Program, and Museum membership packages are available for purchase at the Induction site. Refreshments are sold at the site. For information on reserved seating options granted to Museum members, please call 607-547-0397.

Two special paid parking lots will be available only on Sunday, July 23. These lots are located adjacent to the Blue Trolley Lot on Linden Avenue (paid lot is Cy Young Lot) and on Route 33 just east of the Induction Site (paid lot is the Hank Aaron Lot). Trolley service extends to the Cy Young Lot but neither Trolley nor bus service extends to the Hank Aaron Lot.

Museum Member Benefits

To the top

Additional Hall of Fame Weekend Privileges for Members

  • Exclusive early access to the Museum on Saturday, Sunday and Monday
  • Free admission to the Hall of Fame throughout the year
  • A special members-only entrance to the Hall of Fame to avoid long lines
  • Reserved seating for the Induction Ceremony for Contributor, President’s Circle and Benefactor Members
  • A complimentary copy of the Commemorative Hall of Fame Weekend Program 
  • Priority access to the Legends of the Game Roundtable program on Monday

For more information about becoming a Hall of Fame Member, click here.

Weekend Events

To the top

Throughout Induction Weekend, the Hall of Fame will host a series of educational programs and fan-friendly experiences designed to connect generations of all ages in activities and events featuring baseball luminaries in the timeless and pastoral village of Cooperstown. Additional programming will be announced soon.

Planned activities for Hall of Fame Weekend 2023 include:

Hall of Fame Weekend Events

  • Friday, July 21: PLAY Ball with Ozzie Smith & special guests (Hall of Famers TBA) 8-11 a.m.        
  • Saturday, July 22: Hall of Fame Awards Presentation, Alice Busch Opera Theater (Private Event) 3 p.m.
  • Saturday, July 22: Hall of Fame Parade of Legends, Main Street 6 p.m. 
  • Sunday, July 23Induction Ceremony, Grounds of Clark Sports Center 1:30 p.m.
  • Monday, July 24Legends of the Game Roundtable: Doubleday Field 10:30 a.m. (Featuring Fred McGriff and Scott Rolen)                                              

PLAY Ball with Ozzie Smith: Join a dream team that could only come together in Cooperstown, with Ozzie Smith and Hall of Famer guests hosting a morning experience in a fundraiser for the Hall of Fame’s educational programs. For the 20th year, PLAY Ball returns as Players, Legends And You with an interactive meet and greet starting at 8 a.m. on Friday, July 21 during Hall of Fame Weekend 2023.  

PLAY Ball features over two hours of non-stop interaction, including personalized instruction and the chance to turn double plays. Each participant receives time on the field with these baseball legends, as well as a personalized photo and special mementos of the occasion. This event is open to fans of all ages.

Registration for this Museum fundraiser is $750. Space is limited. For questions or to sign up call 607-547-0385. Additional Hall of Famer participants will be announced soon. National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum8 a.m., Friday.

Parade of Legends: Join the pageantry and excitement as the Hall of Famers ride from the Otesaga Resort Hotel, up Chestnut Street then down Main Street on their way to a private reception at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum during an extended parade route that will begin at the Otesaga Resort Hotel. Main Street, 6 p.m., Saturday.

Legends of the Game Roundtable: The Hall of Fame’s newest members will participate in a Legends of the Game Roundtable eventTickets to this event will be available for purchase to Museum Members starting Thursday, June 1 by calling 607-547-0397. Tickets are $10 for adults, $5 for children under 12. Doubleday Field, 10:30 a.m., Monday.

Travel Packages

To the top

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum has teamed up with Sports Travel and Tours to offer baseball fans a one-stop opportunity to purchase Hall of Fame Weekend travel packages. For more information or to plan a trip to Cooperstown, please call 1-888-310-HALL (4255). Membership participants receive a 5% discount on all their baseball travel packages.


To the top

Accommodation information is available through thisiscooperstown.com/lodging and through the Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce at 607-547-9983. For driving directions from major cities, area cities and local airports, visit the directions page at the Hall of Fame’s website for more information.