BBWAA Hall of Fame Election Results Revealed Tuesday, Jan. 21

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – There are still a few weeks left until the start of Spring Training, but the biggest moment of the 2020 baseball calendar is less than 36 hours away.

The results of the 76th Baseball Writers’ Association of America Hall of Fame election will be revealed at 6 p.m. ET on Tuesday, Jan. 21. MLB Network will air extensive coverage, interviews and analysis beginning at 3 p.m. ET, then televise the announcement live as Hall of Fame President Tim Mead delivers the results. The announcement will be simulcast on and at

The 2020 BBWAA ballot features 32 players, including 18 new candidates and 14 returnees. Any candidate who receives votes on at least 75 percent of all ballots cast will be inducted into the Hall of Fame as a member of the Class of 2020.

The 32 candidates (with the returnees in bold and their 2019 BBWAA election percentage in parentheses) include: Bobby Abreu, Josh Beckett, Heath Bell, Barry Bonds (59.1%), Eric Chávez, Roger Clemens (59.5%), Adam Dunn, Chone Figgins, Rafael Furcal, Jason Giambi, Todd Helton (16.5%), Raúl Ibañez, Derek Jeter, Andruw Jones (7.5%), Jeff Kent (18.1%), Paul Konerko, Cliff Lee, Carlos Peña, Brad Penny, Andy Pettitte (9.9%), J.J. Putz, Manny Ramírez (22.8%), Brian Roberts, Scott Rolen (17.2%), Curt Schilling (60.9%), Gary Sheffield (13.6%), Alfonso Soriano, Sammy Sosa (8.5%), José Valverde, Omar Vizquel (42.8%), Billy Wagner (16.7%) and Larry Walker (54.6%).

The Class of 2020, which already includes Modern Baseball Era electees Marvin Miller and Ted Simmons, will be inducted July 26 in Cooperstown as part of the July 24-27 Induction Weekend. Admission to the 1:30 p.m. Induction Ceremony on the grounds of Cooperstown’s Clark Sports Center is free and open to the public.

The Museum has teamed up with Sports Travel and Tours to offer baseball fans a one-stop opportunity to purchase Induction Weekend travel packages. For more information or to plan a trip to Cooperstown, please call 1-888-310-HALL (4255) or visit Membership participants receive a 5% discount on all their baseball travel packages.