Sandberg to Host Otesaga Hotel Seniors Open Pro-Am

Ten years ago this summer, Ryne Sandberg joined baseball’s greatest team at the Hall of Fame.

This September, Sandberg – a frequent Cooperstown visitor – will return to the home of baseball again, this time to help support and celebrate the lives of his Central New York neighbors.

Sandberg will serve as the celebrity host for the 33rd Annual Otesaga Hotel Seniors Open and Pro-Am Golf Tournament Sept. 8-11 at the Leatherstocking Golf Course in Cooperstown. Elected to the Hall of Fame as a member of the Class of 2005, Sandberg will make his first appearance at the Pro-Am, participating with nearly 100 top pros from around the country who are expected to compete in the three-day Seniors Open Wednesday through Friday, Sept. 9-11.

As the Pro-Am master of ceremonies, Sandberg – a 10-time All-Star second baseman and nine-time Gold Glove Award winner over 16 seasons with the Phillies and Cubs – will be featured throughout the Tuesday, Sept. 8 Pro-Am and as the speaker at that evening’s fundraiser dinner. The Pro-Am begin with an 11:30 a.m. shotgun start. For more information on the Pro-Am or to register to play, click here.

Proceeds from this event benefit Pathfinder Village located in nearby Edmeston, a residential community dedicated to children and adults with Down syndrome and other developmental disabilities. Annually, the Seniors Open raises more than $50,000 for scholarships for Pathfinder Village and directly helps the Village’s 90-plus residents. More than $2.2 million has been raised for Pathfinder Village through the years.

Proceeds also benefit the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum educational programs, which enables the world-famous Museum to fulfill its educational mission and care for its priceless collections.

The tradition of a Hall of Famer as the Pro-Am master of ceremonies began in 2004 and includes: 2014: Bobby Cox; 2013: Rollie Fingers; 2012: Fergie Jenkins; 2011: Johnny Bench; 2010: Jim Rice; 2009: Mike Schmidt; 2008: Harmon Killebrew; 2007: Mike Schmidt; 2006: Robin Roberts; 2005: Carlton Fisk; 2004: Phil Niekro.

The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the tournament’s title sponsor and has been instrumental in the tournament’s success. Located on the shores of beautiful Otsego Lake in Cooperstown, the Otesaga Resort Hotel has been selected as a “Historic Hotel of America” by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Overlooking picturesque Otsego Lake, the Otesaga Hotel’s Leatherstocking Golf Course is considered one of the East’s most scenic and historic par-72 layouts. Designed by the legendary Devereux Emmet in 1909, Leatherstocking has been rated “four stars” by Golf Digest’s “Places to Play.”

The presenting sponsor for the 2015 tournament is NBT Bank.

John Elliott of Westerly, R.I., shot a 7-under par 206 over three rounds to capture the 2014 Otesaga Hotel Seniors Open. The complete list of former champions: 2013: Jim Chancey; 2012: Tom Eubank; 2011: Tournament canceled due to rain; 2010: Ed Whitman; 2009: Jeff Roth; 2008: Jerry Tucker; 2007: Scott Spence; 2006: Bobby Heins; 2005: Darrell Kestner; 2004: John Gentile; 2003: Lonnie Nielsen; 2002: Dan Wood; 2001: John Traub; 2000: Paul Parjeckas; 1999: Marty Bohen; 1998: Tony Perla; 1997: John Gentile; 1996: Austin Straub; 1995: Tom Joyce; 1994: Tom Joyce; 1993: Ray Montgomery; 1992: Dave Philo; 1991: Tom Joyce; 1990: Jim Albus; 1989: Dick Sarta; 1988: Pete Hessemer; 1987: Doug Dalziel; 1986: Bob Bruno; 1985: Richard Howell; 1984: Rolland Stafford; 1983: Donald Hoenig.

For more information on the Seniors Open, please contact the Leatherstocking Golf Course at 607-547-9931.

For more information on the Pro-Am portion of the tournament, please call Pathfinder Village at 607-965-8377, ext. 115.