Pre-Integration Committee Voting Results

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum’s Pre-Integration Era Committee announced balloting results Monday for its 2015 election of players, managers, executives and umpires. The ballot featured six former players, three executives and one of baseball’s earliest organizers and was considered by a 16-person committee featuring four Hall of Famers, four veteran baseball executives and eight historians/media members.

Doc Adams received votes on 10 of the 16 ballots for a percentage of 62.5, while 19th century players Bill Dahlen and Harry Stovey each received votes on eight of the 16 ballots (50 percent).

To earn election, candidates needed to be named on at least 75 percent of all ballots cast.

Voting Results

  • Doc Adams
    10 votes, 62.5%
  • Bill Dahlen
    8 votes, 50.0%
  • Harry Stovey
    8 votes, 50.0%

Sam Breadon, Wes Ferrell, August “Garry” Herrmann, Marty Marion, Frank McCormick, Chris von der Ahe and Bucky Walters received three or fewer votes each.

The Pre-Integration Era Committee considered the ballot of candidates whose contributions to the game were most significant from baseball’s origins through 1946. Committee members could vote for zero to four candidates on each ballot.

The 16-member Pre-Integration Era Committee commissioned with the review of the 10-name ballot met Sunday and Monday in Nashville, Tenn., and was comprised of Hall of Fame members Bert Blyleven, Bobby Cox, Pat Gillick and Phil Niekro; major league executives Chuck Armstrong, Bill DeWitt, Gary Hughes and Tal Smith; and veteran media members Steve Hirdt, Peter Morris, Jack O’Connell, Claire Smith, Tim Sullivan, T.R. Sullivan, Gary Thorne and Tim Wendel. Hall of Fame Chairman of the Board Jane Forbes Clark served as the non-voting chairman of the Pre-Integration Era Committee.

The Pre-Integration Era ballot was devised by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America-appointed Historical Overview Committee, comprised of 11 veteran members, which screened all eligible players, managers, umpires and executives to develop the final 10-name ballot: Dave Van Dyck (Chicago Tribune), Bob Elliott (Toronto Sun), Jim Henneman (formerly Baltimore Sun), Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch), Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau), Bill Madden (formerly New York Daily News), Jack O’Connell (BBWAA secretary/treasurer), Jim Reeves (formerly Fort Worth Star-Telegram), Tracy Ringolsby (, Glenn Schwarz (formerly San Francisco Chronicle) and Mark Whicker (Los Angeles News Group).

In 2016, the Expansion Era Committee – which met previously in 2013 – will consider candidates whose main career contributions came after 1972. In 2017, the Golden Era Committee – which met previously in 2014 – will consider candidates whose main career contributions came from 1947 through 1972. Committees will continue to meet at the Winter Meetings.

Hall of Fame Weekend 2016 will be held July 22-25 in Cooperstown, N.Y., with the Induction Ceremony slated for Sunday, July 24, 2016. The BBWAA election results will be announced at 6 p.m. ET on Wednesday, Jan. 6.

Also this week at the Winter Meetings, two Hall of Fame award winners will be announced, with the BBWAA selecting its annual J.G. Taylor Spink Award on Tuesday, Dec. 8 for meritorious contributions to baseball writing. On Wednesday, Dec. 9, the Museum will announce the 2016 Ford C. Frick Award winner, given for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

Full Candidate Bios

To the top

Voting Rules

To the top